Monthly Archives: January 2016

No one elected by Hall of Fame committee

cheap mlb jerseys

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Hall of Fame’s Pre-Integration Committee, which considered a ballot featuring six former players, three executives and one of baseball’s earliest organizers, did not elect anyone to be inducted into the Cooperstown shrine on Monday.


cheap mlb hats

Doc Adams, widely credited for creating the position of shortstop while playing for the New York Knickerbockers in the 1840s and ’50s, received votes on 10 of 16 ballots for a percentage of 62.5, while 19th-century players Bill Dahlen and Harry Stovey each received votes on eight of the 16 ballots (50 percent). To earn election, candidates needed to be named on at least 75 percent of all ballots cast.

baseball jerseys cheap

The 16-person committee featured four Hall of Famers, four veteran baseball executives and eight historians/media members.

cheap baseball jerseys

Cardinals owner Sam Breadon, shortstop Marty Marion and pitchers Wes Ferrell and Bucky Walters were among the others on the ballot who received three or fewer votes.

The committee, which studies players, managers, umpires and executives from the era prior to 1947 — when Jackie Robinson integrated the Major Leagues — opens a week of Hall of Fame festivities.

On Tuesday, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America will announce its annual winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for a noteworthy career in baseball writing. And on Wednesday, the Hall will announce its winner of the Ford C. Frick Award for meritorious service to baseball broadcasting. Boston Globe columnist Dan Shaughnessy and late Atlanta Journal-Constitution columnist Furman Bisher are returnees to the Spink ballot.

The 10 finalists for the 2016 Frick Award are all from the Broadcasting Dawn Era, which began with the first baseball broadcast and ended in the 1950s. The candidates are Jack Graney, Harry Heilmann, Al Helfer, France Laux, Tom Manning, Graham cheap mlb jerseys McNamee, Rosey Rowswell, Hal Totten, Ty Tyson and Bert Wilson.

At the same time, approximately 475 eligible members of the BBWAA are pondering their choices among players largely now with 10 years of eligibility. Ken Griffey Jr. and Trevor Hoffman are the most notable first-timers on that ballot, with Mike Piazza having a chance to be elected in his fourth year.

Writers must submit their ballots by Dec. 21, and an announcement of any electees will be made in New York on Jan. 6.

Anyone elected from all the above ballots to the Class of 2016 will be honored or inducted during ceremonies to be staged in Cooperstown, N.Y., on the weekend of July 23-24.

This was the second time around for the Pre-Integration Committee. The Hall devised a novel approach to its Veterans Committees in 2010, with different committees voting for players from distinct eras every three years.

In 2012, that first edition of the Pre-Integration Committee elected 19th-century catcher Deacon White, umpire Hank O’Day and Yankees seminal owner Jacob Ruppert. Last year, the Golden Era Committee did not elect anyone from a ballot that included Dick Allen, Tony Oliva, Jim Kaat and Gil Hodges. Two years ago, the post-1972 Expansion Era Committee elected managers Joe Torre, Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa.

A Historical Overview Committee of 11 veteran writers and historians selected this year’s ballot, the remainder of which is comprised of pioneer Doc Adams, shortstop Bill Dahlen, Reds president August “Garry” Herrmann, first baseman Frank McCormick, outfielder Harry Stovey and 19th century St. Louis Browns owner Chris von der Ahe. All are deceased.

The makeup of the 16 on each committee changes from year to year. This year’s Pre-Integration Committee had a nice mix. It included four Hall of Famers — Cox, Bert Blyleven, Phil Niekro and Pat Gillick, the former general manager elected by the first Expansion Era Committee in 2010. Cardinals owner Bill DeWitt, former Mariners president Chuck Armstrong and scouts Gary Hughes of the Red Sox and Tal Smith of the Astros represent Major League Baseball.

And veteran media members or historians comprise half of the panel: Steve Hirdt, Peter Morris, Jack O’Connell, Claire Smith, Tim Sullivan, T.R. Sullivan, Gary Thorne and Tim Wendel.

Barry M. Bloom is a national reporter for and writes an MLBlog, Boomskie on Baseball. Follow @boomskie on Twitter. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs. Share This Email Print + Hide Comments